Vice Chancellor’s Environmental Sustainability Awards 2022

The University of Oxford held its seventh Environmental Sustainability awards ceremony, hosted by the Vice Chancellor, Dame Professor Louise Richardson.

Roughly 150 staff and students from across the University came together at the Sheldonian Theatre to recognise and celebrate their contributions toward the University’s strategic environmental goals. 

microsoftteams image

From the top left: Green Impact awards, wildflowers, the view from the Sheldonian, Saroj  Saurya LEAF Champion Awards winner From the bottom left: guests using upcycled fans to cool, the Sheldonian Theatre, the Environmental Sustainability team with the awards, and guests.

Vice-Chancellor Dame Louise Richardson presented the results at the environmental Sustainability Awards Ceremony.

Award Results 

Environmental Sustainability Project Awards 


  • Wolfson Zero Carbon project 


  • The Classroom with Leaves (Wytham Woods)
  • OxPOCH – Oxford Partnership for Operationalising the Conservation Hierarchy

Environmental Sustainability Staff Awards 


  • Alex Black
  • Dr Dawn Burnham
  • Harriet Quint
  • Sue Henderson

Environmental Sustainability Students Awards


  • Hannah Chase and Sarah Peters


  • Josh Ettinger, Alexis McGivern and Marcus Spiegel

LEAF Champion awards

  • Dunn School Green Group

Additional recognition at the ceremony were all the Green Impact and LEAF teams that achieved Bronze, Silver Gold or Beyond Gold Awards in the past year. 

Read more about the winners, runner-ups and nominations in the awards brochure.


For more information and pictures

Please get in touch with the Environmental Sustainability team at



Share this


More news


Related links